Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Am I mad? Help me please.

Reaction score
I'm a hobbiest photographer and bought a Parrot Anafi (from ebay) for pictures and not video. I have not flown it yet.

I unpacked it and after 4 hours faffing, trying to fix gimbal issues, connection issues to the controller, camera would not show a picture and then USB C connection issues to the Macbook Pro. I managed to reset everything to get it working to take some photos. I was not impressed.
The second time I tried to start it up, the gimbal issues was still there (which is difficult to show a video of as the phone is connected to the controller to start taking a video of) but after a reset it started long enough to let me take some more photos.

The first batch of photos had artefacts in the auto image. I put it down to being shot inside when it was evening, then I took it outside the next day in daylight and shot some images and there is a fair amount of grain from a DNG even at 100iso. There was significant image compression in the DNG images and random artefacts in the highlight light areas. Is this normal?

I've posted some shots just before I took it outside, the room was quite bright, we have no curtains on the windows and I set the camera starting at 100iso and worked my way up to 3200iso. The drone is sat still on a table so the only movement from it will be the gimbal stabilisation rotation.
By the time it gets to 400iso, the colour noise and grain are significant.
800iso is unusable.

Basically (for me) this makes Blue or Golden hour photography unusable with this drone.