Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Flight Plans

Gareth777

Reaction score
I'm just beginning to experiment with flight plans for the Disco. Its pretty straightforward to plan the landing for the same place as takeoff.. but what if your proposed landing site is somewhere else, and at a different elevation to the point of takeoff?

So I'll take off at sea level and follow the river upstream into the hills. The point of landing is a field that is 40m above sea level. In order to ensure a 50m altitude above ground level I have set the flight altitude at 90m.

I have scheduled a circular landing from 90m.. though the actual height over the ground is 50.

When the plane circles down to land, will it detect the gound underneath it and level out.. or will it plunge headlong into the ground..not expecting it to be there for another 40m?

If it ever stops raining I'll find out.. any thoughts meantime?

Gareth

Start saving money for a new disco .....?...kidding,not really sure, you have Vertical camera and sensor that are checking altitude once disco drops down to 25 feet(if i remember right)above ground so you should be fine theoretically,i mean if you set altitude higher than landing zone it should be fine.....,lets wait for rain to stop,i am curious to find out how disco will react....good luck and keep us posted ✌

Thanks Skydreamer

I've just got into using flight plans and am very impressed overall. Done a few practice runs at slightly extended range but so far always returning to the same location. In fairness I can't think of many reasons to land elsewhere unless to get additional range.. and I was actually shaking with worry when the screen went blank and I couldn't see or hear the plane for just 3 mins.. I don't think I could bear it any longer.