Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

I knew RC reception was bad, but this seems a bit extreme...?

lemieszek

Reaction score
Ok, so I'm starting a few mapping missions over an urban area I'm studying. I'd been using a Spark and Litchi for these missions till recently so I'm just getting the hang of the Anafi and Pix4Dcapture.

I drew a polygon about 450m x 450m around me, 120m in altitude, and Pix4D said it should take 10 min... nice safe mission to get started. RC, bird and iPad all close to 100% battery.

Wait for good GPS reception, hit start, off it goes...

Exactly 41m above my head, I lost all reception. I didn't get a "heavy interference" warning and it didn't get choppy - it became as if the drone was turned off entirely. The bird kept climbing, got to its altitude and began the mission. Still no reception. I'm turning my RC around, pointing it up, etc, and nothing.

About 3 min into the mission I get out of Pix4D and into FreeFlight. Try again. Nothing at all. I grab a metal cookie can I have lying around and try to use it as an improvised signal booster. Nothing. Hit RTH like crazy. Nothing.

The bird flies its mission and comes back overhead. Somewhere in the middle of its descent it starts responding to my commands on the RC. I land it safely.

I knew the SC3 is weak, but 41m of range seems a bit extreme. Yes, it's an urban environment, but I've flown my Spark 2.7km out from the same spot - video got choppy but I had communication all the while.

Wifi channel set to "auto" and both bands are available to me.

Any contributions? :unsure:

Last edited: