Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Should I buy a Thermal?

TeddyBoy

Reaction score
Hello, I am still a novice when it comes to drones, only having flown smaller "recreational" toy versions. I was originally looking at the DJI machines, but got steered in the direction of Parrot during my research for a drone to use on my property.
I live on a small farm and vineyard and have decided that I would like to have a drone for various reasons. I am certain that I will put the FLIR option to good use, which is why I have been looking at the Anafi Thermal. Today, just as I was about to buy the unit, I came upon the discussions on this forum about the Thermals falling out of the sky, the poorly functioning app, and the terrible Parrot customer service.
I like that Parrot doesn't have the NFZ interruptions that DJI has inserted into their protocol. I like the price as compared to DJI versions that have the FLIR option. But I am NOT interested in losing $2,000 on a drone that drops from the sky. Has the firmware issue been resolved?
So, I am asking if anyone here would recommend the Anafi Thermal, of should I look elsewhere?
Thanks for any patient responses anyone may have for this newcomer.

I doubt if the Thermal falls out of the sky any more often than the regular Anafi: I have not seen any indication of that on the Forum. I have a regular Anafi with a year and a half use and I have never had any problems with it. I have, however, been very attuned to the apparent problems of certain firmware revisions and refused to upgrade to them. My firmware is 1.6.3, which is about a year old. Thus it is imperative to determine which firmware the Thermal you intend to buy has installed and research the newer firmwares for it.