Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Up-and-Down wobble, especially on smart shots, I don't recall this with previous Anafi

dmbrody

Reaction score
I took a break from the Anafi last fall and only recently have I started playing around with it again.

I don't recall so much up-and-down wobble in the footage I captured with my first Anafi. It's almost as if this new Anafi is 'nodding' its head in agreement with what I've decided to film. I've gone back to review some of the original unedited footage I shot, and sure enough its not nearly as severe as what I'm experiencing now.

A lot of that old footage was shot in high winds way beyond the recommended spec for the Anafi. I remember being blown away (no pun intended) by how well it performed in those conditions. It allowed me to film in locations and on days when my Mavics could not be operated safely.

Now that the Anafi has an onscreen histogram, I'd like to get it back into the rotation. I really do prefer it. However, the vertical axis wobble could be a deal killer for me.

QUESTION:
Based on my searches, it seems this issue is not isolated to me alone. There have even been some suggestions that it is new behavior that crept in during some software updates. Can anyone confirm this? I suppose it makes sense as I am seeing this behavior mostly on smart shots/modes like Cameraman, or while doing orbits during Follow Me. It is almost as if the Anafi thinks the follow target is jumping up and down 15 feet in the air... if that make sense to anyone.

Edit: I have access to the original Anafi I used last year. I will test it out to see if it is a hardware issue on my new Anafi. In the meantime, I would still appreciate any insights you guys might have.

Did u perform a gimbal calibration before taking to the air....