Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

What Filter to Use?

pmh1nic

Reaction score
I am a total beginner and need some advise. I will be spending some time camping at the beach at the end of the month and hopefully will have some nice sunny days for flying and doing a little video recording and picture taking. Based on the little bit I have read on bright sunny days you can get better results by using a filter. I purchased a set of filters (ND4, 8 and 16, CPL, ND32/PL and ND64/PL).

On a day with bright sunshine what filter should use? And if it should be an overcast day should I fly without any filter?

I know there may be other variables involved (various camera settings) but if you can point me in a direction to get me started it would be appreciated.

..... Based on the little bit I have read on bright sunny days you can get better results by using a filter. I purchased a set of filters (ND4, 8 and 16, CPL, ND32/PL and ND64/PL).

On a day with bright sunshine what filter should use? And if it should be an overcast day should I fly without any filter?..

I'm a newbie Anafi pilot but a retired aerial photographer so the use of ND filters is well understood. I just looked at this site and found the table partway down to be a great rule of thumb.
ND Filter - Why they are necessary for your drone - UnlimiteDrone

This video was very good too, because there is a real difference between using ND filters for still shots and video:

The last video I shot was in 1969 (!), so I'm stoked to try out the Anafi!! :cool:

The Freewell filters are the best....sounds like that's what you bought, and what I'm buying right now.