Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

Beta Testers Testing New RTH Feature

Bobthinks

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 8, 2018
Messages
73
Reaction score
25
Woot! I nearly list mine to an automatic rth triggered by an unexpected signal loss. I regained control and stopped it about a foot from a 30 meter light pole. I'd have been hard pressed to try to hit that pole deliberately if flying manually (I give it a wide allowance regardless) but you would have thought the pole was laser designated for RTH. The signal loss was as a train went by and my little portable fm radio went nuts and my son lost control of his toy drone ship I'm assuming something interesting was going on electrically in one of the locomotives.
 

mariocuzo

Active member
Joined
Jul 8, 2018
Messages
35
Reaction score
9
Great news!
Do we know when will it be available for download?
 

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
341
Reaction score
143
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
It would seem there are also other features that are currently being worked on in the Beta, and hopefully released to us soon:

Block AE
20 to 100M height for RTH
Photos with multiple exhibitions
(Whatever that means)
Shoot 2.7k
and some more that were not mentioned by details


But at least it shows they are being very serious about the whole thing.

FF^ Beta.png
 

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
341
Reaction score
143
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
Yea I think the translation screwed it up, I just posted from the original source
 

pa911

Active member
Joined
Jul 24, 2018
Messages
26
Reaction score
5
Photos with multiple exposer can be use for HDR (-1ev,0,+1ev for instance)
 

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
341
Reaction score
143
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
I had an email from Parrot this morning, in response to my complaint regarding the fixed RTH, and how in my opinion it was dangerous.

They resoponded and said they had numerous complaints regarding this and had already passed it to their developers who hope to release the update shortly.

Goes to show that people power does seem to work at times :)
 

Eencke

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
19
I also sent an email to parrot to ask them and to confirm if the rth indeed doesnt work less then 15 meters away from the controller, but they dont seem to understand and asking to send back the anafi under warranty. I told them That it hasnt got to do with the hardware and that if indeed the developers put a minimum distance between controller and drone in which the drone doesnt return home but remains hovering , then this is an app or software problem.i asked them to check again with the developers and if so to update the manual. But they dont response anymore
 
Last edited:

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
341
Reaction score
143
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
Hmmm yes I get that, when I first tried RTH I was under that invisible perimeter and it wouldn't work, I would expect it to work, I know its a different beast, but it works on my Mavic..... Maybe another email needs composing :)
 

Eencke

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
19
Yes dji has a 20 meter perimeter, but that is mentionned in their manual. Fortunately the anafi is not landing but hovers aprrox 2 meters above ground. But still this should be mentionned in the parrot manual , as it could cause accidents or crashes
 

Eencke

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
19
But i gave up with parrots helpdesk , because it looks like some or most of them are not experienced and probably never held one anafi in their hands. I pressume they only have a booklet with standard answers on standard questions. If there is a difficult or a non standard question , they give an answer closest to the subject which is written down
 

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
341
Reaction score
143
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
I sent an enquiry off to Tech Support last night regarding the fact that RTH is not working when the drone is less than 20m from the take off spot (Horizontal plane).

They have just come back to me, and clearly this person responding is running from some sort of script, unlike my previous experience.

They have asked for a long list of stuff BEFORE they will answer, this includes the obvious like all the firmware and software versions, which were included in the enquiry, make and model of my phone (again included in the query)...... they clearly didn't both to read all content of the enquiry..

They then list:

. Where I purchased the Anafi
. The time and date of purchase
. A copy of the original purchase receipt
and the list went on.

Think they only thing they didnt ask, was what colour underwear I had on at the time of the incident.

Think they have definitely lost the plot on this one OR playing for time!!!
 

Eencke

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
19
I sent an enquiry off to Tech Support last night regarding the fact that RTH is not working when the drone is less than 20m from the take off spot (Horizontal plane).

They have just come back to me, and clearly this person responding is running from some sort of script, unlike my previous experience.

They have asked for a long list of stuff BEFORE they will answer, this includes the obvious like all the firmware and software versions, which were included in the enquiry, make and model of my phone (again included in the query)...... they clearly didn't both to read all content of the enquiry..

They then list:

. Where I purchased the Anafi
. The time and date of purchase
. A copy of the original purchase receipt
and the list went on.

Think they only thing they didnt ask, was what colour underwear I had on at the time of the incident.

Think they have definitely lost the plot on this one OR playing for time!!!
🤭😁yes thats the parrot call center, thats what i was facing too.
First i had to give them all this nonsense in spite i only asked a simple question to check with the developers. Then they came with an answer that i should send the drone back for replacement. I told them that this hasnt got to do with the drone but app or software, and that they should check again. Then after a few days they came back with an email that they consider the case closed if i dont give a reply on this email😳😏😤
Then i gave up. they havnt got a clue and probably also are a call center for other companies
 

Eencke

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2018
Messages
84
Reaction score
19
I sent an enquiry off to Tech Support last night regarding the fact that RTH is not working when the drone is less than 20m from the take off spot (Horizontal plane).

They have just come back to me, and clearly this person responding is running from some sort of script, unlike my previous experience.

They have asked for a long list of stuff BEFORE they will answer, this includes the obvious like all the firmware and software versions, which were included in the enquiry, make and model of my phone (again included in the query)...... they clearly didn't both to read all content of the enquiry..

They then list:

. Where I purchased the Anafi
. The time and date of purchase
. A copy of the original purchase receipt
and the list went on.

Think they only thing they didnt ask, was what colour underwear I had on at the time of the incident.

Think they have definitely lost the plot on this one OR playing for time!!!
Just received an email again from parrot that my case has been escalated the the developers.
See what happens
 

FliteDoc

Member
Joined
Aug 8, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
1
Location
Jackson, WY
Lost connection about 500 ft. away .. no response to RTC several times ... finally RTH triggered ... could not interrupt RTH by moving controls and worried about clearing instructions ... when overhead pressed “Land” and was able to control again... Anafi should have way to interrupt RTH...
 

Agustine

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 30, 2018
Messages
2,145
Reaction score
1,272
Location
Ontario Canada
Are you sure you actually had a connection to the Anafi at the time you tried to interrupt? When over head it might have reconnected and that is why you where able to control it again. Just a thought, not saying it was so.
 

Latest threads

Members online

Forum statistics

Threads
2,395
Messages
20,493
Members
3,132
Latest member
Employee3003444