Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.

Unexpected turn left and back

miklav

Reaction score
Hi everybody - apologies if I am asking something known but neither search here in the forum nor google didn't bring me any results...

I am new to Anafi and I had my 2nd flight today in an open area. I noticed a few times during move forward Anafi suddenly turned left and then back. I didn't touch the left stick; and even if I did it would have turned much slower... Is it something known?
No errors in the app on the phone (and the phone was in airplane mode with WIFI, bluetooth, 4G and GSM off).

This is the video from the drone:
(see 0:03 and 0:14 for those sudden turns)

Last edited:
To me it looks like you hit a cross wind. Some of us have had a lot worse than yours. Yours looks pretty mellow compared to mine.

If @Agustine is correct, you might want to check out the windyty app. It’s great for getting wind readings at different elevations. Actually their website is almost identical to the app (if you don’t want yet another app on your phone):

On the right side click the ‘hamburger’ icon, then scroll down and set elevation to 100m. It’s good to check wind speeds at surface, 100m, and 600m. If you see huge discrepancies, particularly between surface and 100, then you should be heads up when flying. Even when it’s calm on the surface, it can be severe just 50 meters over head. When it’s really severe, try to plan your shots so the Anafi (or any drone for that matter) is moving with the wind.

If this keeps happening on every flight, then it’s not wind shear. Typical advice would be to do a drone calibration and a gimbal calibration. If that fails, next people will probably ask you to post the flight log. Simultaneously, you could send the video and your flight log to parrot support. You’ll probably get an answer here first though.

Last edited:
Reactions: McAl