Welcome to our Community
Wanting to join the rest of our members? Feel free to sign up today.
Sign up

Pre Loading Maps

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
301
Reaction score
121
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
Searched around for the answer but not come up with anything.

If I am in Airplane mode, obviously I cannot grab maps as i am flying, so looking for a way to download the relevant map data prior to flying. This was easily achieved in the Mavic Pro, just not sure how Anafi does it, if at all


Thanks
 

Liger 1956

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 28, 2018
Messages
367
Reaction score
116
Location
Manchester, UK
The latest version of the app has a 'Load Map' button that allows you to preload a map of the area that you will be flying in.
 
  • Like
Reactions: dmbrody

dmbrody

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 29, 2018
Messages
111
Reaction score
69
As @Liger 1956 says, map caching is built into the app. Its great because it does all work for you (scrolling around the area, zooming in and out to capture different magnification levels).

  1. Launch FreeFlight6
  2. On home screen click “Load Map”
  3. Position over target area and click “Prepare Map”
Enjoy as it zooms around and loads maps tiles for you.
 
  • Like
Reactions: d95gas

MustangPhil

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
238
Reaction score
165
Location
France
This ‘Load Map’ option that was added to the App is an absolute genius idea !!
The only option I need now is a better resolution for flight plan and support of the iPad mini (it works but layout is not optimized).
... and of course à Raw option for the Auto Bracketing option (I sent an email in French to the support for this one !!)
I have the feeling Parrot is listening to customers ...
 
  • Like
Reactions: d95gas and dmbrody

d95gas

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 27, 2018
Messages
301
Reaction score
121
Age
61
Location
Northeast UK
The latest version of the app has a 'Load Map' button that allows you to preload a map of the area that you will be flying in.

Just upgraded on the tablet and I see it now :) I knew I had seen it somewhere, thanks for saving my sanity..... and my hair
 

robinh

Member
Joined
Dec 8, 2018
Messages
7
Reaction score
1
Location
Scotland
Why when I go back to the same area and load map does it download it again? I am not sure if it is storing it. It would be good if there was a way to see what maps were cached, like some sort of boundary or shading on the map view.
 

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
2,086
Messages
17,884
Members
2,690
Latest member
Deadstar1202