Welcome to ParrotPilots!
Join our free parrot drone community today!
Sign up

Loss of Video Feed

Pixelstate

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
I've completed around 25 flights with my new Anafi. I have frequently experienced a loss of live video feed on a number of flights. It starts out normally but shifts suddenly to a screen resembling noise/interference. The Drone remains responsive and can be piloted and landed. If the cable to phone is disconnected and re-connected this sometime (but not always) kicks the video back in.

I have not noticed any warning messages, it appears to occur more often if I forget to switch phone to airplane mode.

I am using lastest firmware and FF6 App but I am running iOS 12 Beta on an iPhone X

Anyone else seen this and got any ideas on a resolution. It is un-nerving and impacts an otherwise great experience

Thanks
 

Pixelstate

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
If it was recording video at the times it happened are they messed up or are they okay?
Not 100% sure... but I've not seen any evidence of problems or corruption on the footage recorded on the card. In fact the first time it occurred I fairly sure that the video recorded as normal.
 

PascalG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 18, 2018
Messages
68
Reaction score
36
Location
Miami, FL / Bahamas
Website
www.youtube.com
Make sure you put the phone in airplane mode. I ve lost on screen video and data in flight while the controller still had a link (solid blue light). It only and always happened if i had forgotten to switch to airplane mode. Closing the app, disconnecting the cable, turning airplane mode on and restarting fixed it while in flight. Started happening after the last FF update
 
Reactions: Pixelstate

Pixelstate

Member
Joined
Sep 11, 2018
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
Make sure you put the phone in airplane mode. I ve lost on screen video and data in flight while the controller still had a link (solid blue light). It only and always happened if i had forgotten to switch to airplane mode. Closing the app, disconnecting the cable, turning airplane mode on and restarting fixed it while in flight. Started happening after the last FF update
Thank you for posting - I concur. It does appear that the problem is likely related to airplane mode.. Certainly in the situations I have experienced this it was when I had forgotten to turn Airplane mode on prior to flight. In the cases where I latterly engaged Airplane mode I did experience continued issues but had not closed and re-started app and reconnected cable. I will work to re-produce and respond to this thread with results. NOTE: I have not flown the Anafi prior to the recent FF Update and have therefore no comparison of experience
 

IM35461

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
41
Location
East Sussex, UK
I just turn off the phones WiFi when using my Anafi but leave data on so it can access map data.
 

PascalG

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 18, 2018
Messages
68
Reaction score
36
Location
Miami, FL / Bahamas
Website
www.youtube.com
With wifi off but celular still on, i was never able to get beyond 1000'. Today i got to just under a mile range. I may have been able to push it a little further but didnt want to tempt fate :)Image-1.jpg
 

IM35461

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2018
Messages
153
Reaction score
41
Location
East Sussex, UK
I tried two flights today one with just WiFi off and the other in Airplane mode.

The results were much the same with a range of 300M heading towards built up area and 500M in the other.

Some phones it seems also have GPS issues when in Airplane Mode e.g. it does not work which could lead to other issues.

How much would it have cost them to build GPS and barometer sensor into the controller?

Of course in the UK we have the lower transmission power levels making all our flight ranges pretty pathetic.
 

Landbo

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 5, 2018
Messages
459
Reaction score
169
Location
NW Denmark.
I tried two flights today one with just WiFi off and the other in Airplane mode.

The results were much the same with a range of 300M heading towards built up area and 500M in the other.

Some phones it seems also have GPS issues when in Airplane Mode e.g. it does not work which could lead to other issues.

How much would it have cost them to build GPS and barometer sensor into the controller?

Of course in the UK we have the lower transmission power levels making all our flight ranges pretty pathetic.
I can fly more than 5 times so far in the countryside before losing the connection with direct vision from the controller to Anafi.

The reason for some phones/tablets can not deliver a GPS position in airplane mode is that they do not have a GPS module built-in but must ask the transmitter-mast for the device location, which is, however, VERY incorrect.

It's guessing but, would suppose a cost $10 in material.

Here in Denmark we use the same output power as in the UK, because the transmitter operates under the same approvals.

Regards Leif
 
Reactions: IM35461

Latest threads

Forum statistics

Threads
1,401
Messages
11,990
Members
1,813
Latest member
elBorix